James Bond

007 ELEMENTS: Bond inside the Mountain

The futurist 007 ELEMENTS James Bond Installation opens its doors right inside the peak of Gaislachkogl at 3048 meters above sea level. The building was designed by ice Q architect Johann Obermoser, the fabulous interior created by Bond Art Director Neal Callow. “What took you so long?”, asks Christoph Waltz our author. She totally agrees with him: It was long overdue to indulge ourselves in a real Bond backdrop.

James Bond Spectre - 007 Elements Sölden
© 2015 Danjaq, LLC, Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Studios Inc., Columbia Pictures Industries

007 is even for mums a reason to give in

I mainly grew up without a TV. My mother was convinced that books would tell better stories and nature would provide better pictures. Fortunately she had a soft spot for Sean Connery and therefore she made an exception for James Bond films.

I was probably sitting in front of the 007 movie with my mouth open all the time. The villains had white cats, golden pistols and glittering steel braces. Fights and chases took place on the water of Venice, the pyramids of El Giza or the Golden Gate Bridge – and then, (many many) years later, in a superb place that I know very well and now represents a new Hollywood Summit.

Intraterrestrial Setting

007 Elements und ice Q Außenansicht - 007 Elements Sölden
© Christoph Nösig

Dennis Gassner as production designer was commissioned by director Sam Mendes to find a hot and a cool shooting location for Spectre. Mendes is particularly fond of symmetric elements in terms of design and film composition. When Gassner discovered the ice Q – this clearly designed, cubic building at the 3048 meter high Gaislachkogl summit – he had found the perfect Hollywood-like Alpine scenery. In 2015, a 500-member Hollywood crew settled down in Sölden. The rear Ötztal valley became a new 007 filming location – of course, everything was top secret.

The fact that – in addition to the ice Q – another Bond highlight will move into the peak of Gaislachkogl was not a secret. 007 ELEMENTS is a cinematic adventure world offering myriad futurist experiences for all senses, that have been integrated right into the mountain by ice Q architect Johann Obermoser. It is a truly archaic building made of concrete, steel and glass with a permanent temperature of +1° Celsius in order not to influence the permafrost soil. You better dress warmly when you enter the big black steel door that gives access to a film-like scenery containing varied cubic rooms connected to each other.

Edged, creative, rich in contrasts

Blick von 007 Elements auf Gletscherstraße - 007 Elements Sölden
© Kristopher Grunert

Anyone who has a weakness for architecture will be captivated by this outstanding building and its nine chambers: the edges – just like the surrounding rocks – contrast with the round and cool elements. The Bond highlights literally explode in the dark before you suddenly reach the light again, almost floating above the steep slope that overlooks the Glacier Road which was shown in the wild chase on the screen shortly before (by the way: the car tires for the snow scenes were spiked by hand – 1500 spikes …).

In terms of stage setting it quickly becomes apparent that Hollywood was a part of the production. The installations by EON Productions and MGM (Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Studios) are truly awesome – they are based on a concept by Neal Callow, who worked as an art director on four 007 movies, and Tino Schaedler, chief designer at the international creative agency Optimist Inc.

Behind the scenes & Q’s gadgets

007 Elements Tech Lab - 007 Elements Sölden
© Kristopher Grunert

Director Sam Mendes welcomes you to Room 1, he talks about his time in Sölden and explains the filmic background. Behind-the-scenes details about the origins of the Bond Worlds are a recurring theme also in the following rooms. You get to know bizarre things about the film shooting, the production’s immense dimensions and the visionary nature of producer Broccoli and production designer Sir Ken Adam.

I don’t want to lead you through the single exhibition rooms, you should really enjoy this walk yourself. But I can mention a few things: it will be a dramatic and explosive experience, light and dark, narrative and visual. And it will be digitally interactive: the Tech Lab is incredibly fun – welcome to the future! You follow the movements of your own scanned forearm and control the screen with 3D movements in the air. You will also remember the original gadgets of fantastic Q, you can try and test a variety of things on and off screen: the eponymous Golden Gun (1974) as well as the ski pole rifle from The Spy Who Loved Me (1977) and many more.

And what comes next? One of the most awe-inspiring views and outlooks: a surprisingly open space offering dreamlike vistas of the Ötztal Alps. In front of it – floating in the air – you’ll see many single parts of Bond’s aircraft which played the main role in the Spectre wild mountain chase down the winding glacier road and the snow-covered slopes … and through the hay barn.

For anyone who has the slightest predilection for Bond, a visit to 007 ELEMENTS in Sölden is an absolute must-do mission – even Christoph Waltz is already waiting in the gun-shaped entrance area, wondering “What took you so long?”

(Cover image: © Christoph Nösig / Bergbahnen Sölden)

007 ELEMENTS Details

  • The 007 ELEMENTS Installation at Gaislachkogl opens its doors on 12 July 2018
  • More details on opening times are available HERE
  • For information about ticket rates click HERE
  • Facts on the location at Gaislachkogl can be found HERE
  • Everything you want to know about 007 ELEMENTS is available HERE on the official Sölden website
Gastautorin Sissi Pärsch - Ötztaler Moped Marathon
© Sissi Pärsch

Guest Author Sissi Pärsch

… is a freelance journalist writing for several magazine like “BIKE” and “Bergwelten” (in German) – therefore she is a regular guest in Ötztal.

“Something I can tell you about Ötztal: it is 67 kilometers long, ascending from its entrance to the rear end with its majestic mountain peaks above 3000 meters altitude. And this valley will never stop surprising me with new and spectacular insights and outlooks.”

Comments

Book Online

Let’s go to Sölden!

Are you still in search of your perfect accommodation for a memorable holiday in Sölden? No matter if you plan your next ski vacation or superb hiking days – The Hot Spot in the Alps offers lodgings for all preferences and pocket books! Hotels of varied categories, apartments & chalets, B&Bs, private guesthouses, inns, holiday houses and quaint mountain huts cater to all tastes, just like the Ötztal valley itself.

The convenient Online Booking Platform run by Ötztal Tourismus guarantees a quick, easy and safe booking process! Guests can take full advantage of exclusive deals and holiday packages. If you have further questions, the experienced team can help you in planning your measure-made holiday as only local specialists will provide you with useful insider’s recommendations.

Flipping through our offers you will find your perfect holiday accommodation for sure!

 

book online
Gastautor

Author Gastautor

... varied guest authors write about their adventures and experiences in the Ötztal / in Sölden / in Obergurgl-Hochgurgl.

More posts by Gastautor

All rights reserved Salient.

By subscribing to our newsletter, the user gives his/her explicit consent, in accordance with art. 6, par. 1, point (a) GDPR, that all personal data entered are used for sending newsletters on a regular basis. The user can unsubscribe from the newsletter at any time. An ‘Unsubscribe’ link can be found at the end of each newsletter. More information can be found in our privacy policy

James Bond

007 ELEMENTS: Bond im Berg

Mit dem 007 ELEMENTS eröffnet am Gaislachkogl auf 3048 Metern eine futuristische James Bond-Installation mitten im Berg. Das Gebäude geformt von ice Q-Architekten Johann Obermoser, der Inhalt in Szene gesetzt von Bond-Art Director Neal Callow. „What took you so long?“ fragt Christoph Waltz unsere Autorin zur Begrüßung. Sie muss ihm rechtgeben: Es war längst überfällig, einmal selbst in eine wahre Bond-Kulisse einzutauchen.

James Bond Spectre - 007 Elements Sölden
© 2015 Danjaq, LLC, Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Studios Inc., Columbia Pictures Industries

Bei 007 wird selbst die Mutter schwach

Ich bin größtenteils ohne Fernseher aufgewachsen. Meine Mutter war der Überzeugung, dass Bücher die besseren Geschichten und die Natur die besseren Bilder liefern würde. Doch dank ihrer Schwäche für Sean Connery machte sie bei James Bond-Filmen eine Ausnahme.

Wahrscheinlich saß ich mit durchgehend offenem Mund vor dem 007-Spektakel. Die Bösewichte hatten weiße Katzen, goldene Pistolen und stählerne Zahnspangen. Gekämpft wurde auf dem Wasser von Venedig, den Pyramiden von Gizeh oder der Golden Gate Bridge – und dann (viele, viele) Jahre später an einem Ort, den ich gut kenne und der jetzt einen neuen Hollywood-Gipfel darstellt.

Innerirdische Inszenierung

007 Elements und ice Q Außenansicht - 007 Elements Sölden
© Christoph Nösig

Dennis Gassner war als Production Designer von Regisseur Sam Mendes beauftragt worden, für Spectre eine heiße und eine kühle Dreh-Location zu finden. Mendes hat eine Vorliebe für Symmetrie – in Sachen Design wie auch Filmkomposition. Als Gassner auf das ice Q stieß, dieses klare, kubische Gebäude auf dem 3048 Meter hohen Gaislachkogl-Gipfel, hatte er seine hollywoodreife Alpenkulisse gefunden. Und so nistete sich 2015 eine 500-köpfige Hollywood-Crew in Sölden ein. Das Hintere Ötztal wurde zum neuen 007-Drehort – und alles war top secret.

Dass neben dem ice Q noch eine weitere Bond-Besonderheit in den Gaislachkogl einziehen wird, war über das letzte Jahr hingegen kein Geheimnis. Das 007 ELEMENTS ist eine cineastische Erlebniswelt gespickt mit futuristischen Sinneserlebnissen, die von ice Q-Architekt Johann Obermoser direkt in den Berg integriert wurde. Es ist ein archaisches Gebäude aus Beton, Stahl und Glas, in dem eine Temperatur von 1°C herrscht, um den Permafrost nicht zu beeinflussen. Man muss sich also warm anziehen, wenn sich die großen schwarzen Stahltüren öffnen, man eintaucht in die filmreife Kulisse und von einem Kubus in den Nächsten schreitet.

Kantig, kreativ, kontrastreich

Blick von 007 Elements auf Gletscherstraße - 007 Elements Sölden
© Kristopher Grunert

Wer ein Faible für Architektur hat, den wird schon allein der Bau mit seinen neun Kammern fesseln: kantig wie der ihn umgebene Fels kontrastiert er immer wieder mit runden, aber kühlen Formen. Im Dunklen explodieren die Bond-Highlights bis man plötzlich hinausgeführt wird ins Licht, schwebend über dem Abhang mit Blick auf die Gletscherstraße, die man soeben noch auf der Leinwand in der Verfolgungsjagd gesehen hat (übrigens wurden die Autoreifen für die Schneeszenen per Hand mit Spikes versehen – mit 1500 Spikes…).

In Sachen Inszenierung bemerkt man schnell, dass hier Hollywood seine Hand im Spiel hatte: Nach einem Konzept von Neal Callow, der bei vier 007-Filmen als Art Director arbeitete und Tino Schaedler, Chefdesigner bei der internationalen Kreativagentur Optimist Inc. sind die Installationen von EON Productions und MGM (Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Studios) schwer beeindruckend.

Behind the scenes & Q’s gadgets

007 Elements Tech Lab - 007 Elements Sölden
© Kristopher Grunert

Begrüßt wird man in Raum 1 von Regisseur Sam Mendes, der von seiner Sölden-Zeit erzählt und die filmerischen Hintergründe erläutert. Behind-the-Scenes Informationen über die Entstehung der Bond-Welten tauchen auch in den folgenden Räumen immer wieder auf. Man erfährt Skurriles zu den Dreharbeiten, zu den immensen Dimensionen der Umsetzung und der visionären Radikalität von Produzent Broccoli und Production Designer Sir Ken Adam.

Ich will gar nicht durch die einzelnen Räume führen, den Gang sollte man schon selbst unternehmen. Aber ein paar Sachen kann man durchaus erwähnen: es wird dramatisch und explosiv, hell und dunkel, erzählerisch und bildstark. Und es wird digital interaktiv: Das Tech Lab macht geradezu erschreckend viel Spaß – willkommen in der Zukunft. Man verfolgt die Bewegungen seines eigenen, gescannten Unterarms, steuert mit 3D-Bewegungen in der Luft den Bildschirm. Und dann wären da noch die Gadgets des grandiosen Q im Original, mit denen man on und off screen die unterschiedlichsten Dinge anfangen kann: der titelgebende Goldene Colt (1974) genauso wie das Skistock-Gewehr aus Der Spion, der mich liebte (1977) und viele mehr.

Was danach noch kommen kann? Einer der spektakulärsten An- und Aussichten: Ein überraschend offener Raum, der den Blick auf die Ötztaler Alpen freigibt. Davor in vielen Einzelteilen im Raum schwebend das Flugzeug, mit dem Bond in Spectre die Verfolgungsjagd aufnimmt, über die Gletscherstraße und die schneebedeckten Hänge hinab – und hindurch durch die Scheune.

Für jeden, der auch nur annähernd ein Faible für Bond hegt, sollte der 007 ELEMENTS-Besuch eine klare Sölden Mission sein – Christoph Waltz wartet schon im pistolenrohrförmigen Eingang mit der Frage „What took you so long?“

(Titelbild: © Christoph Nösig / Bergbahnen Sölden)

Infos 007 ELEMENTS

  • Die 007 ELEMENTS Installation am Gaislachkogl öffnet am 12. Juli 2018 ihre Pforten
  • Infos zu den Öffnungszeiten findest du HIER
  • Details zu den Ticketpreisen erhältst du HIER
  • Mehr zur Location am Gaislachkogl gibt’s HIER
  • Alles über 007 ELEMENTS erfährst du HIER auf der offiziellen Sölden-Website
Gastautorin Sissi Pärsch - Ötztaler Moped Marathon
© Sissi Pärsch

Gastautorin Sissi Pärsch

… schreibt als freie Journalistin unter anderem für die Magazine BIKE und Bergwelten – und findet sich deshalb immer wieder im Ötztal.

„Was ich inzwischen über das Ötztal weiß: Es ist 67 Kilometer lang, steigt vom Talanfang über 3.000 Höhenmeter hinauf in die Gipfelwelt – und wird nicht müde, mich jedes Mal aufs Neue mit spannenden Ein- und Ausblicken zu überraschen.“

Kommentare

Suchen & Buchen

Blick auf Sölden im Sommer

Auf nach Sölden!

Du bist noch auf der Suche nach der passenden Unterkunft für deinen Aufenthalt in Sölden? Egal ob du für den kommenden Skiurlaub planst oder ein Wanderwochenende im Sinn hast, im Hotspot der Alpen findet sich für jeden die passende Unterkunft! Hotels in allen Kategorien, Appartements & Ferienwohnungen, Pensionen, Frühstückspensionen, Gasthöfe, Ferienhäuser und urige Hütten – das Angebot ist so vielfältig wie das Ötztal selbst.

Die Online Buchungsplattform des Ötztal Tourismus garantiert einen einfachen, schnellen und sicheren Buchungsprozess! Profitiere dabei von exklusiven Spezial- und Pauschalangeboten. Bei Fragen stehen dir unsere Urlaubsberater, allesamt waschechte Ötztaler, mit Insiderwissen zur Seite.

Viel Spaß beim Stöbern & Finden deiner Traumunterkunft!

Suchen und Buchen
Gastautor

Autor Gastautor

... verschiedene Gastautoren berichten über ihre Erfahrungen im Ötztal / in Sölden / in Obergurgl-Hochgurgl.

Mehr Artikel von Gastautor

All rights reserved Salient.

Alle im Rahmen der Newsletter-Anmeldung angegebenen personenbezogenen Daten werden gemäß unserer Datenschutzerklärung behandelt. Ich stimme der Erhebung, Verarbeitung und Nutzung der personenbezogenen Daten zu und habe die Datenschutzerklärung gelesen. Das Newsletter Abonnement kann jederzeit widerrufen werden. Am Ende jedes Newsletters befindet sich dafür ein entsprechender Abmeldelink.